Lust in Phaze

from billboard
The seven-year career of idiosyncratic jazz-pop quartet Soul Coughing will be surveyed on “Lust in Phaze,” due March 19 from Rhino. The set will contain 20 songs culled from the group’s three Slash/Warner records — 1994’s “Ruby Vroom,” 1996’s “Irresistible Bliss,” and 1998’s “El Oso” — plus scattered rarities including a live version of “Casiotone Nation,” a Propellerheads radio edit of “Super Bon Bon,” and the non-album track “Buddha Rhubarb Butter.”
“Lust in Phaze” will come packaged with a band history by New York Press editor John Strausbaugh and track-by-track notes from frontman Mike Doughty, who formed Soul Coughing in 1992 with drummer Yuval Gabay, bassist Sebastian Steinberg, and keyboardist Mark De Gli Antoni.

The group’s first two albums were critical successes, but its biggest chart showing came with “El Oso,” which debuted at No. 49 on The Billboard 200 in October 1998. The album contained Soul Coughing’s biggest single, “Circles,” a No. 8 hit on Billboard’s Modern Rock Tracks chart.